“I Thought the King Had More Affected the Duke of Albany Than Cornwall.”

In a fit of post-royal-wedding-withdrawal-symptoms I got crafty in my pjs this morning. Being now as I am a busy working commuting type person I’ve missed leisurely crafty days, so it was satisfying to get the needle and thread out once more, although I did come over all dithery in a state of seam allowance/ slip stitching/ lack of matching thread and sewing machine related confusion. In the end I decided on a combination of a  Cath Kidston/ printed internet patterns/ make-it-up-as-you-go-along technique for my vintage floral peg bag. I’ve combined gorgeous material bought from a local village vintage shop with ribbon and button from a collection given me for my birthday (for other birthday delights, see the below “furry” tulips). The result may be more pretty than practical as I appear to have misplaced most of my pegs, so the sturdiness or otherwise of aforementioned slip stitching remains untested for now.

I also bring you evidence that my crochet blanket (begun in a blog many months back and wrongly foretelling that I’d be done by Christmas) is very nearly completed. I feel almost royally triumphant about this and can’t wait to stitch all the squares together. I have only 3 (THREE!) granny squares left to go, and then perhaps I’ll count them all to assess exactly how much of an Everestian task this has been!

PS: For the template that I loosely used, follow this link: http://www.housetohome.co.uk/articles/Make_a_floral_peg_bag_195226.html

3 thoughts on ““I Thought the King Had More Affected the Duke of Albany Than Cornwall.”

  1. Nice to see you back Emma, and that is a wonderful pegbag! I will need one of those now that we own a house with a washing line. Actually, it is a rotary dryer and I need to restring it, and we haven’t moved yet, but obviously a pegbag is a top priority!!

  2. Thank you, Verity! Pegbags are decidedly essentials as have an entirely practical purpose! (The fact that I am without a washing line is neither here nor there!)

Leave a Reply

